Featured Posts

1 2 3 4 5

Monday, 22 September 2014

Review: I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Dial Books
Page Count:  384 pages, Hardcover
Date Published: September 16th 2014
Find it on Goodreads: I'll Give You the Sun
Source: Purchased


A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell
Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.
This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.




Jandy Nelson is why I want to be a writer. This book is why I want to be a writer. This prose, this story, these characters... theses are all some of the many, many reasons why I want to be a writer. This book is a masterpiece; a collection of the finest pieces of art complied together in words to make you think and to open your mind and to bring light into your life. I am in awe by the way this novel was written, with its mesmerizing metaphors, precise yet artistic descriptions, and small but important details added in everywhere to make it all complete. My heart is bursting at the seams with my love for this book and this story, with its complex, beautiful characters with whom I connected so deeply yet felt like I could learn so much more about them. I crave more about this family and their future, but am content with where we left off and I just fell in love so completely with Noah, Jude, and their stories that I now feel empty as their written story is finished. Jandy Nelson is a gift to the world of authors and books who must and will be cherished. I praise Nelson once again for a spectacular, touching story about family, love, loss, and art. Bravo, to this wonderful author. Bravo.


Happy reading!
~Kristy

1 comment:

  1. The Sky is Everywhere was my first YA contemporary, and it paved the way for me reading more and more contemps and enjoying them. But that one is a stand-out in my heart and my mind and I don't believe any other will surpass it. But if anything can, it will definitely be Jandy Nelson's newest, I'll Give You the Sun. I haven't read it yet, but don't you worry... It is in the plans! I just need a full 3 hours to sit and read, beginning to end. Because I know once I start, there will be no stopping!

    ReplyDelete

Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment! I appreciate every single comment I get! I will try as hard as I can to remember to stop by your blog and return the favour! (I'm so sorry if I forget, I have an awful memory!)

As of now, A Little Shelf of Heaven is an award-free blog! I really appreciate them, so so much, but I just don't have the time to pass them along to other blogs!

Thanks for stopping by! <3

©A Little Shelf of Heaven
Design by Seo Evie. Powered by Blogger.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...