Featured Posts

1 2 3 4 5

Tuesday, 30 September 2014

It's That Time of Year Again...

School is back, homework is assigned, and exams are dreaded. Ah, yes it is that time of year where the blog is going to be slightly slower and more sporadic than usual and here I am with my annual apology. I'll keep it brief this time: I'm currently working on 5 classes for this semester and with that comes little time to read and blog, but I'm trying. I won't say I'm going to be incredibly successful in my endeavours, but I'm trying. I love this blog and all of the homework in the world won't make me stop blogging.. I just might take some breaks as I get back into the groove of things. As you may or may not know, I'm in my final year of high school this year, so with that comes the enormous stressor of applying for universities and scholarships, which mean a lot of essays! So I'll be reading a lot of required reading books in the next little bit for some pretty school scholarships... Maybe I'll talk about those sometimes on here, who knows!? I'll be around, y'all just will have to be patient as I try and navigate through my course load and designate time for my reading!

Love and Happy reading!
~Kristy

Tuesday, 23 September 2014

Top Ten Tuesday: Fall TBR

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.This week's topic  is: Top Ten Books on My Fall TBR.










That's my ten for the week! Leave me a link to yours and I'll check it out!

Happy reading!
~Kristy

Monday, 22 September 2014

Review: I'll Give You the Sun by Jandy Nelson

Author: Jandy Nelson
Publisher: Dial Books
Page Count:  384 pages, Hardcover
Date Published: September 16th 2014
Find it on Goodreads: I'll Give You the Sun
Source: Purchased


A brilliant, luminous story of first love, family, loss, and betrayal for fans of John Green, David Levithan, and Rainbow Rowell
Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah's story to tell. The later years are Jude's. What the twins don't realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.
This radiant novel from the acclaimed, award-winning author of The Sky Is Everywhere will leave you breathless and teary and laughing—often all at once.




Jandy Nelson is why I want to be a writer. This book is why I want to be a writer. This prose, this story, these characters... theses are all some of the many, many reasons why I want to be a writer. This book is a masterpiece; a collection of the finest pieces of art complied together in words to make you think and to open your mind and to bring light into your life. I am in awe by the way this novel was written, with its mesmerizing metaphors, precise yet artistic descriptions, and small but important details added in everywhere to make it all complete. My heart is bursting at the seams with my love for this book and this story, with its complex, beautiful characters with whom I connected so deeply yet felt like I could learn so much more about them. I crave more about this family and their future, but am content with where we left off and I just fell in love so completely with Noah, Jude, and their stories that I now feel empty as their written story is finished. Jandy Nelson is a gift to the world of authors and books who must and will be cherished. I praise Nelson once again for a spectacular, touching story about family, love, loss, and art. Bravo, to this wonderful author. Bravo.


Happy reading!
~Kristy

Wednesday, 17 September 2014

Summer.

Hey guys! So if you follow me on the social medias, you've probably noticed that I've been pretty quiet and well, there's a reason for that. I have been extremely sick with what I believe my doctor said is bronchitis and it's kind of taken over my life the past two weeks, which has not been fun. I've hardly done anything online other than check a couple of emails and watch Netflix in bed... Let's just say I decided one day it was a good idea to start watching Gossip Girl again... not sure where that came from, but hey, if it gets me through the day not so miserably, whatever works! Anyways, I'm finally starting to feel a bit better, so I thought I'd pop on the blog to say hi, as well as talk a bit about the summer! I know, I know, it's September 17th! Isn't the summer wrap-up post bit supposed to be done by now? WELL I am still not in school because currently in my lovely province of BC, the teacher federation and the liberal government have been disputing over a strike that has been going on since June... The public school system in BC already missed two weeks of school at the end of the year in June (don't even get me started) but now we're in our third week missing from the start of the school year. The beginning of my grad year has been delayed and I am soooo not rejoicing in the fact that there's extra vacation time. I'd really just prefer to be back in class, learning and preparing for universities and scholarships, but alas, I am here at home in the middle of the day on a Wednesday because the two sides to the dispute are so far apart, mediators don't even know what to do with them apparently. 

ANYWAYS, so enough about that, but I thought I'd give you a little insight into what's been going on with me lately! And below I just thought I'd list 5 things that I did this summer and some of the memories I made, because well, it was a good summer and I like to remember these kinds of things!


1. I got my license! In the province I live, when you turn 16 you're able to get your 'L' which means you can drive with a person over 25 and then a year later, you can get your 'N' which means you can drive on your own! AND I DID IT!!! And I mean, look at that awesome parking job ;)





2. I dyed my hair pink! I'd been wanting to do this for a long time and was a bit afraid, but my dad convinced me I should so I decided to take a risk and dyed the bottom half of my hair hot pink! It has now faded into a blonde, but I just loved it so much and am so happy I did it for the summer!



3. I went to Bard on the Beach with my mum, which was super fun! It's this Shakespeare company in Vancouver that performs amazing plays and my mum took me for my birthday! We saw The Tempest which was HILARIOUS and one of my favourite plays I've ever seen! 

4. I saw Ed Sheeran for the 3rd time in concert with one of my best friends, Janae and it was amazing! He was so good and energetic and it was a wonderful concert! Plus it was outside, so a perfect summer experience!

5. I got stuck in traffic for 4 hours! I know, you're probably like, why's that a good memory? But I was with afore mentioned best friend Janae on our way to Vancouver and there was a huge traffic jam, so a trip that should have taken us around an hour was quadrupled! But honestly, it was so much fun jamming out to music and having long discussions in the car with her that it's probably one of my all time favourite summer memories. When we finally made it to Vancouver, we had such a lovely time window shopping and had a delicious dinner and it was overall an incredible day! Definitely a highlight of the summer for me!



I just thought I'd do this quick little overview of the summer so that when I look back on the blog I can see some of the things I did and also just give anyone who wanted a little look into my life, if anyone actually wants that! I had a lovely summer filled with memories with my friends, my mum, my dad, and the rest of my family, but these are just five things that super crazy stand out for me! Now summer is almost technically over for the world, but for BC students, it has continued until now! Apparently they've come to a tentative agreement, so we might be back in school next week! I sure hope so, because frankly, I'm getting a bit bored... I miss school! But I've also done some cool things this September so I might do a little wrap up of that at the end of the month!

Anyways, what did you get up to this summer? Let me know in the comments, I'd love to know!

Happy reading!
~Kristy

Tuesday, 16 September 2014

Top Ten Tuesday: Authors I've Only Read Once But Need to Read More

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by The Broke and the Bookish.This week's topic  is: Top Ten Authors I've Only Read One Book from but NEED to Read More!

1. A.S. King – I've only read Ask the Passengers from her but need to read more! I love the way she writes!

2. Benjamin Alire Sáenz – I read Aristotle and Dante and was blown away by the way Sáenz writes... I am in dire need of more of his works.

3. Ava Dellaira – I don't know if she's coming out with more books, but I desperately hope so. Poetic and poignant, Dellaira's words meant a great deal to me.

4. Ayn Rand – I read Anthem on a teacher recommendation this year and am so looking forward to reading more of Rand's work... Eye-opening stuff that is.

5. John Steinbeck – To say I need to read The Grapes of Wrath is an understatement. 

6. Markus Zusak – After reading The Book Thief I wanted to read everything Zusak had ever written right away, but for some reason didn't... It's still my goal though.

7. Andrea Cremer – I never finished the Nightshade series for some reason and have been meaning to do so for some time now.

8. Huntley Fitzpatrick – I loved My Life Next Door and haven't gotten to reading What I Thought Was True yet, but am dying to. And now I've just seen that there's gonna be a sequel to MLND!!!! AHHH!!!!

9. David Levithan – I'm kind of cheating on this one, because I've read books of his that he's written with other authors, but I've actually never read more than one book that he wrote on his own and I feel like I'm BETRAYING MYSELF because of how much I loved Every Day.

10. Ned Vizzini – Ned Vizzini wrote one of my favourite books of all time and I was planning on reading more of his work, but when I found out he passed away late last year, I was so distraught that I just couldn't pick up another one of his books except for the one that I've read countless times. But I'm working on it. Because I am determined to read everything he wrote. 


Those are my top ten for this week! Leave me a link to yours this week and I PROMISE I'LL CHECK IT OUT. PINKY PROMISE. I swear!

Happy reading!
~Kristy
©A Little Shelf of Heaven
Design by Seo Evie. Powered by Blogger.
Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...